Lego Brick Headz – Colossus (Custom)

06Aug17

When Lego announced the Brick Headz line I was fairly indifferent.

I was watching a video on YouTube of someones Lego room and they had the Marvel ones sitting on a shelf; it piqued my interest. They looked awesome. A week later there was a 3 for 2 sale at the local toy shop and suddenly I had 9 in my shopping cart. I picked up the 4 Batman, 4 Marvel + an extra Hulk.

I built all eight and really enjoyed the builds. I only realized later that the internal pink brick in the head was to represent the brain – it is SO obvious and I missed it. I did wonder at the time but I thought they were just trying to help builders increase their pink brick inventory. It is such an easy extra for Lego to do but those little details really impress me.

With all the official commercially-available (there are some convention exclusives going for crazy money on ebay) sets, that I want anyway*, attentions turned to building a custom Colossus yesterday morning. There is only one other obvious custom online that I could find. I didn’t look very hard, but I found a Deadpool movie version that looks like a computer rendering.

I wanted to create a more traditional version in the classic costume. It was also important to keep the build inline with the official Lego instructions where possible. I have a pretty good Lego brick inventory but I needed the internal head pieces (and the pink brain) from an official set. So I cracked open my remaining Hulk and started to iterate.

lego-brickheadz-marvel-x-men-colossus

lego-brickheadz-marvel-x-men-colossus-side

lego-brickheadz-marvel-x-men-colossus-back

There were quite a few design choices and considerations to get to the final build.

  1. Eyes. The Brick Headz line has a standard set of round black, with white square highlights, for most of the characters. Iron Man has square “frosted” white eyes. Batman has round white eyes that glow-in-the-dark. Traditionally Colossus in his organic steel form is drawn with white eyes but since the official builds have a number of printed bricks and this won’t have any I went with the official eyes instead of the white.
  2. Arms. I copied the Hulk instructions for the arms. Unfortunately they don’t produce (I think – I couldn’t find reference to any on Bricklink) a dark grey thin-hinge-plate 2×2 I had to go with the light grey. Its not a huge deal. The construction of the shoulders, arms and hands worked well – with the Lego essentially providing the Trademark Colossus metal “lines”. I decided against red gauntlets as the arms aren’t long enough to make that look good.
  3. Hair. This might be the only thing I might revisit. Even though Colossus has a shiny black hair style with a front-v – I went with just a basic flat tile on top. The reasoning was I could not figure out a good way to do the front-v – anything I tried looked wrong (with the bricks I have). Either too high or just wrong. I might revisit.
  4. Chest. This was easily the hardest part to figure out. With no printed bricks available I want to introduce some texture. I was actually pretty pleased with the outcome – I used 1×1 plates for the abs and torch with 1×1 tiles to make the pecs.
  5. Tunic. I think this is my favorite part of the build. I was looking at putting something over the shoulder. I considered using a red-socket-hinge on the arms but I liked it being grey – looked more natural. So I needed something over the top but I was aware these are abstract and are essentially 4×4 construction. But I came up with red “fins” that slope backwards and then 1x1x2/3 slopes to make up the V shape of his tunic.
  6. Belt. I could think of nothing that got this done. Anything I tried was either too bulky or hard to get central – this is pretty small scale. I decided to just put a 2×1 plate in to represent the belt buckle. I originally had a dark grey in place but it looked uneven since the head is dark grey. I tried blue (as a sort of throw back to the powered-down original costume) but it wasn’t right so went with black.

That was the major decisions. Everything else was standard. I think it worked out really well and it stands up against the official builds nicely.

lego-brick-headz-marvel-x-men-colossus-avengers

(Sorry the light in the pics is so poor… I’ve spent an hour trying to fix it to no avail! Need crash course in photography!).



No Responses Yet to “Lego Brick Headz – Colossus (Custom)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

